Skip to content
Worcestershire Counts — Worcestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Wychavon, in numbers

People and living standards: Wychavon

Wychavon local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Wychavon local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 101,907 in 1991 to 139,175 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Wychavon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 106,987 people in 1996; 139,175 people in 2025. 30.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Wychavon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991101,907
1992103,396
1993104,371
1994103,876
1995105,152
1996106,987
1997108,727
1998109,249
1999110,921
2000111,937
2001113,081
2002113,453
2003113,914
2004114,258
2005114,696
2006115,451
2007116,141
2008116,229
2009116,499
2010116,863
2011117,074
2012117,858
2013118,841
2014120,170
2015121,990
2016123,632
2017125,694
2018127,335
2019129,003
2020130,419
2021133,084
2022134,575
2023136,959
2024138,187
2025139,175
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Wychavon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,537 people in 1996; 22,101 people in 2025. 7.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Wychavon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,917
199220,116
199320,297
199420,222
199520,357
199620,537
199720,790
199820,879
199921,304
200021,328
200121,370
200221,237
200321,235
200421,319
200521,215
200621,149
200721,007
200820,698
200920,470
201020,106
201119,794
201219,811
201319,916
201419,998
201520,280
201620,598
201721,040
201821,371
201921,532
202021,559
202121,810
202222,051
202322,383
202422,262
202522,101
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Wychavon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 67,928 people in 1996; 80,815 people in 2025. 19% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Wychavon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199164,972
199265,808
199366,226
199465,755
199566,570
199667,928
199769,064
199869,194
199970,305
200071,062
200171,829
200271,977
200371,996
200471,829
200571,872
200672,303
200772,635
200872,508
200972,220
201072,178
201172,031
201271,716
201371,659
201472,111
201572,847
201673,391
201774,354
201874,947
201975,568
202076,355
202178,064
202278,662
202379,922
202480,460
202580,815
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Wychavon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,522 people in 1996; 36,259 people in 2025. 95.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Wychavon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,018
199217,472
199317,848
199417,899
199518,225
199618,522
199718,873
199819,176
199919,312
200019,547
200119,882
200220,239
200320,683
200421,110
200521,609
200621,999
200722,499
200823,023
200923,809
201024,579
201125,249
201226,331
201327,266
201428,061
201528,863
201629,643
201730,300
201831,017
201931,903
202032,505
202133,210
202233,862
202334,654
202435,465
202536,259
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 132,495 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wychavon · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,5101.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4610.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,6001.2%
White128,32596.9%
Other ethnic group5990.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 116,944 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wychavon · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White114,45797.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9620.8%
Asian/Asian British1,1291%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2280.2%
Other ethnic group1680.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 112,957 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wychavon · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White111,62098.8%
Mixed5440.5%
Asian/Asian British3420.3%
Black/Black British1680.1%
Chinese/Other2830.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Wychavon council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,462 per person in 1997; £28,083 per person in 2024. 125.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Wychavon council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,462
199813,080
199913,215
200013,657
200114,152
200214,394
200314,692
200415,516
200516,176
200617,094
200717,315
200817,765
200917,887
201017,841
201118,065
201218,427
201319,224
201419,946
201521,043
201621,333
201721,493
201822,723
201923,276
202023,187
202123,417
202224,563
202326,406
202428,083
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Wychavon council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 17.5% in 1997; 8.2% in 2024. 9.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Wychavon council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199717.5
199820.8
199916.8
200014.7
200114.4
200213.8
200312.7
200414.3
200515.1
200616.7
200712.8
200812.8
200911.7
201010.5
201110.9
20129.1
20139.8
201410.3
201510.6
201610.8
20179.1
201811.3
201910.5
202010.5
20217.2
20227
20238
20248.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.5%

21 March 2021 · Wychavon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.6%

21 March 2021 · Wychavon local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.6%

21 March 2021 · Wychavon local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.6%

21 March 2021 · Wychavon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£323,000

July 2026 · Wychavon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£954

August 2026 · Wychavon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.