Skip to content
Worcestershire Counts — Worcestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Bromsgrove, in numbers

People and living standards: Bromsgrove

Bromsgrove local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bromsgrove local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 83,232 in 1991 to 101,973 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bromsgrove council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 86,019 people in 1996; 101,973 people in 2025. 18.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bromsgrove council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199183,232
199283,838
199384,319
199485,570
199585,718
199686,019
199786,660
199886,625
199986,692
200087,036
200187,904
200289,021
200389,984
200490,516
200591,046
200691,734
200792,563
200893,097
200993,444
201093,507
201193,732
201294,179
201394,530
201495,380
201595,440
201696,254
201796,703
201897,315
201998,339
202098,837
202199,449
2022100,135
2023100,880
2024101,413
2025101,973
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bromsgrove council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,222 people in 1996; 18,138 people in 2025. 11.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bromsgrove council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,960
199216,098
199316,122
199416,308
199516,204
199616,222
199716,322
199816,494
199916,751
200016,878
200116,997
200217,200
200317,318
200417,285
200517,195
200617,117
200717,035
200816,945
200916,846
201016,569
201116,468
201216,511
201316,636
201416,766
201516,826
201617,015
201717,168
201817,480
201917,895
202018,027
202118,035
202218,400
202318,317
202418,251
202518,138
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bromsgrove council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 55,621 people in 1996; 59,626 people in 2025. 7.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bromsgrove council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199154,400
199254,608
199354,870
199455,538
199555,542
199655,621
199755,831
199855,444
199955,126
200055,211
200155,713
200256,383
200356,858
200457,013
200557,365
200657,909
200758,422
200858,575
200958,416
201058,131
201157,978
201257,735
201357,597
201457,835
201557,540
201657,790
201757,805
201857,864
201958,073
202058,192
202158,561
202258,734
202359,228
202459,431
202559,626
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bromsgrove council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,176 people in 1996; 24,209 people in 2025. 70.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bromsgrove council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,872
199213,132
199313,327
199413,724
199513,972
199614,176
199714,507
199814,687
199914,815
200014,947
200115,194
200215,438
200315,808
200416,218
200516,486
200616,708
200717,106
200817,577
200918,182
201018,807
201119,286
201219,933
201320,297
201420,779
201521,074
201621,449
201721,730
201821,971
201922,371
202022,618
202122,853
202223,001
202323,335
202423,731
202524,209
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 99,183 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bromsgrove · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,1593.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7660.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,4142.4%
White92,30993.1%
Other ethnic group5350.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 93,637 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bromsgrove · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White89,69695.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,3961.5%
Asian/Asian British1,9252.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4440.5%
Other ethnic group1760.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 87,837 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bromsgrove · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White85,94597.8%
Mixed6850.8%
Asian/Asian British6530.7%
Black/Black British2970.3%
Chinese/Other2570.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 9.6% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bromsgrove council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £13,435 per person in 1997; £28,466 per person in 2024. 111.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bromsgrove council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199713,435
199814,241
199914,555
200015,062
200115,396
200215,585
200315,609
200416,508
200517,238
200618,233
200718,426
200818,840
200918,691
201018,629
201118,820
201219,291
201320,229
201420,926
201522,468
201622,794
201723,070
201823,604
201923,867
202023,157
202124,089
202225,756
202327,053
202428,466
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bromsgrove council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 26.6% in 1997; 9.6% in 2024. 17 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bromsgrove council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199726.6
199831.5
199928.7
200026.5
200124.5
200223.2
200319.7
200421.6
200522.6
200624.5
200720.1
200819.6
200916.7
201015.3
201115.5
201214.2
201315.5
201415.7
201518.1
201618.4
201717.1
201815.7
201913.3
202010.3
202110.3
202212.2
202310.6
20249.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.3%

21 March 2021 · Bromsgrove local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.2%

21 March 2021 · Bromsgrove local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Bromsgrove local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.4%

21 March 2021 · Bromsgrove local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£336,000

July 2026 · Bromsgrove local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£992

August 2026 · Bromsgrove local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.