Skip to content
Worcestershire Counts — Worcestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Redditch, in numbers

People and living standards: Redditch

Redditch local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Redditch local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 78,750 in 1991 to 87,548 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Redditch council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 77,810 people in 1996; 87,548 people in 2025. 12.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Redditch council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199178,750
199278,479
199378,637
199478,682
199578,288
199677,810
199777,708
199877,819
199978,278
200078,583
200178,779
200279,069
200379,466
200479,654
200580,110
200681,077
200781,762
200882,713
200983,102
201083,570
201184,318
201284,667
201385,072
201485,266
201585,866
201686,432
201786,463
201886,186
201986,307
202086,561
202186,981
202287,237
202387,489
202487,728
202587,548
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Redditch council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,048 people in 1996; 16,263 people in 2025. 9.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Redditch council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,344
199219,128
199319,041
199418,908
199518,534
199618,048
199717,662
199817,341
199917,338
200017,201
200116,918
200216,807
200316,687
200416,564
200516,540
200616,390
200716,267
200816,385
200916,367
201016,382
201116,636
201216,749
201316,696
201416,591
201516,694
201616,818
201716,825
201816,754
201916,870
202016,809
202116,743
202216,774
202316,579
202416,479
202516,263
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Redditch council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 50,559 people in 1996; 54,111 people in 2025. 7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Redditch council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199150,880
199250,701
199350,789
199450,861
199550,747
199650,559
199750,709
199850,987
199951,479
200051,837
200152,193
200252,377
200352,819
200453,006
200553,433
200654,453
200755,041
200855,594
200955,613
201055,607
201155,633
201255,315
201355,249
201454,968
201554,908
201654,926
201754,511
201853,949
201953,638
202053,699
202154,003
202253,893
202354,152
202454,340
202554,111
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Redditch council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 9,203 people in 1996; 17,174 people in 2025. 86.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Redditch council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19918,526
19928,650
19938,807
19948,913
19959,007
19969,203
19979,337
19989,491
19999,461
20009,545
20019,668
20029,885
20039,960
200410,084
200510,137
200610,234
200710,454
200810,734
200911,122
201011,581
201112,049
201212,603
201313,127
201413,707
201514,264
201614,688
201715,127
201815,483
201915,799
202016,053
202116,235
202216,570
202316,758
202416,909
202517,174
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 87,034 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Redditch · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,9955.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,0541.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,2832.6%
White78,17389.8%
Other ethnic group5290.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 84,214 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Redditch · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White77,49792%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,6552%
Asian/Asian British4,0294.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British8621%
Other ethnic group1710.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 78,807 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Redditch · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White74,74194.8%
Mixed1,0011.3%
Asian/Asian British2,1252.7%
Black/Black British6680.8%
Chinese/Other2720.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 12.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Redditch council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,258 per person in 1997; £22,696 per person in 2024. 145.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Redditch council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,258
19989,730
199910,111
200010,370
200110,913
200211,292
200311,681
200412,403
200512,872
200613,434
200713,417
200813,544
200914,007
201013,816
201113,966
201214,433
201314,990
201415,693
201516,488
201616,926
201717,527
201818,530
201918,570
202018,850
202119,635
202219,936
202321,309
202422,696
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Redditch council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -12.7% in 1997; -12.6% in 2024. 0.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Redditch council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-12.7
1998-10.1
1999-10.6
2000-12.9
2001-11.8
2002-10.8
2003-10.4
2004-8.6
2005-8.4
2006-8.3
2007-12.6
2008-14
2009-12.5
2010-14.5
2011-14.3
2012-14.5
2013-14.4
2014-13.2
2015-13.3
2016-12.1
2017-11
2018-9.2
2019-11.9
2020-10.2
2021-10.1
2022-13.2
2023-12.9
2024-12.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

60.8%

21 March 2021 · Redditch local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.7%

21 March 2021 · Redditch local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.8%

21 March 2021 · Redditch local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.2%

21 March 2021 · Redditch local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£246,000

July 2026 · Redditch local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£976

August 2026 · Redditch local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.